Pop Up Shop – London – Anya Hindmarch Bespoke

April 1, 2011 § 1 Comment

Location: Selfridges, London

Date: April 2011 – Open for 6 Weeks

A personalised leather envelope and card holder from Belgian label Delvaux and a grey leather Dunhill evelope with my initials are the sort of things that make me mighty happy these days.  It’s the sort of happiness that is slightly frightening as I know that I’m approaching that age when sturdy, well-made things (that also depressingly come with a haughty price tag) are becoming more and more appealing.  Who knew that day would come when ten years ago, I mocked my mother’s leather bags and thought my faux fur backpack was the best thing EVA..

This is old news for those of you that are very grown-up and swan around Knightsbridge dropping wads of cash here and there, so please ignore if you’ve seen this all before. Said Knightsbridge regulars better not laugh at me either because today was my first discovery of Anya Hindmarch Bespoke line as they have popped up at Selfridges for six weeks with a shop that looks more like a permanent space than a temporary pop-off venture. With my complete non-plussed-ness over bags, all things Hindmarch probably floats over my head so even though Anya Hindmarch opened up her Bespoke store on Pont Street in London two years ago, it’s not a place I’ve ventured before (this video is a GREAT overview/intro). Good on Selfridges Oxford Street for planting a compact Anya Hindmarch Bespoke space at the department store for six weeks, so that yobs like me get to gawp at all the customised, engraved and personalised leather goodies that I have a penchant for copping a feel and getting a whiff of. In the vaguely Victorian, vaguely English, distinctly old-looking set-up are a slew of little delightful surprises that unfold, reveal themselves and are pleasingly discreet… At Bespoke, if you can doodle, write and draw your message/inscription clearly enough, anything goes basically… Oh and not to be stereotypical to think all mothers mend clothes but honestly this sewing kit box needs to be given to some mothers out there this Sunday. At the very least it will get you a “Awwww! That’s so SWEET that you THOUGHT that I would sew your buttons back on for you… Now bugger off and get me my proper pressie…”

Tagged: , , ,

§ One Response to Pop Up Shop – London – Anya Hindmarch Bespoke

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Pop Up Shop – London – Anya Hindmarch Bespoke at Pop Store's Blog.

meta

